IPL Teams list
Even though money has rained for cricketers and Board of Cricket Control in India, profits have not been flowing for the franchise owners of the Indian Premier League. Barring a few names of Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders; other franchises have not registered encouraging profit figures. This has saw untimely surrender from some IPL franchises as well. Kochi Tuskers Kerala saw the light of day only for their debut season, IPL 4 in 2011, and never surfaced again. Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab have also been battling existence battle.

Some difference between BCCI and Sahara, owners of Indian Premier League’s most expensive franchise, Pune Warriors India, and sponsors for Indian cricket for nearly two decades, resulted in pulling out of Pune Warriors India from the league. IPL 6 also saw Sunrisers Hyderabad replacing the now defunct Deccan Chargers Hyderabad. This has reduced the IPL Team List to just 8 for the forthcoming season in 2014, which will be seventh. For IPL 7, Mumbai Indians would take the field as title defending champions while Chennai Super Kings would look to take their IPL title tally to 3.

Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders along with the new Hyderabad team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, would look to repeat the feat of taking IPL trophy to their home. On the other hand, Kings XI Punjab, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils would be three IPL Teams looking for their maiden title. It is touted that after the completion of the ICC Champions League 2013, which would see 4 IPL teams competing along with 6 others from the world over, the BCCI might mull over inclusion of another IPL franchise to maintain the number of IPL 2014 Teams as 9. This would help them to follow the successful format of IPL 6.

Sr.No. Team Captain Coach
1 Chennai Super Kings Mahendra Singh Dhoni Stephen Fleming
2 Delhi Daredevils Kevin Pietersen Gary Kirsten
3 Kings XI Punjab George Bailey Sanjay Bangar
4 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Trevor Bayliss
5 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma John Wright
6 Rajasthan Royals Shane Watson Paddy Upton
7 Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli Daniel Vettori
8 Sunrisers Hyderabad Shikhar Dhawan Tom Moody